“Just be yourself” is silly advice.

“Just be yourself” is silly advice.

What if you are rude, mean, an asshole?

The whole point of civilization is to discipline and restrain yourself.

Don’t be yourself. Be a decent human being.

And if that requires faking it, then fake it.

Categories: Wisdom

6 replies

  1. The seven stages of nafs classified by scholars of ihsan.

    1. Nafs al-Ammara : The (Evil) Commanding Self or Ego (Qur’an 12:53)

    2. Nafs al-Lawwama : The Self-Reproaching Self or Soul (Qur’an 75:2)

    3. Nafs al-Molhima : The Inspired Soul or Self (Qur’an 91:7)

    4. Nafs al-Motma’inna : The Soul or Self at Peace (Qur’an 89:27)

    5. Nafs ar-Radiyya : The Contended Soul or Self (Qur’an 89:28)

    6. Nafs al-Mardiyya : The Soul or Self Experiencing the Pleasure of Allah (Qur’an 89:28)

    7. Nafs al-Kamila : The Perfect Soul or Self

  2. I totally agree. My daughter is turning lesbian, she even is not 16 yet. She informed me a few days ago. She has all this in her mind from last years, it made me to doubt my upbringing.
    I can’t advice her just be yourself although this is what she wants to listen. But I assured her I am with her.
    I am looking for lots of help and support.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: